definition: settle or congregate for rest or sleep
How the Roost came to be...
In 1865, Mrs. Melissa L. Clement bought a small home-site, located on the corner of Porter and Martin, from George E. Poyneer in December 1895 for $250. The front lot east of the Clement home was acquired from W.B. Schmidt in June 1896 for $100. It appears that another structure was built on the property, as the Pascagoula newspaper reported, "Mr. E.E. Clements has the lumber on hand for a summer house in the branches of his giant oaks."
In April 1907, Mr. Clement sold his Porter Avenue property to George E. Arndt (1857-1945) for $1800.
In 1952, Wilbur C. Wisnasky and his neighbor on Martin Avenue, Lehman Parker, built an eight-unit motel on the property. Mr. Wisnasky named these flat-roofed, concrete buildings Wilbur's Motel, and advertised his establishment with the slogan, "Come For A Season or Come For A Day."
In the spring of 1997, Jake Jacobs, Dave Cole, and Tommy Capers took to transforming the old E.E. Clement place into what came to be Ocean Springs' popular restaurant, The Porter House.
In 2016, we decided this beautiful building needed to be showcased once more to the many locals and visitors to Ocean Springs. Renovations began in June of 2016, with The Roost scheduled to open its doors to the public in April 2017. The utmost care has been taken in restoring and celebrating this building's cultural heritage. From maintaining the majestic oak trees to salvaging the original wood accented throughout the building, our mission has been to highlight this significantly historical landmark in the heart of Ocean Springs.